A Quotable Wedding


Every once in a while, synchronicity happens.  Circumstances come together and all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.  Well, it just happened again!

It’s been a while since I blogged, and God knows I’ve had plenty to share, but little time to do it!  It’s the busy season around here, with sessions of dogs, kids, seniors and families all happening during our short season of summer.  Yesterday found me at Woof – N – Hoof in the morning, playing vendor to all those that came and walked with their dogs to raise $$ for Gilda’s Club of Southeastern Wisconsin.  It was fun to meet all who stopped and chatted at my booth!

Later in the afternoon, I switched gears and photographed a wedding held at Discovery World.  It was warm afternoon and as I walked with the middle-aged couple, and her 2 sons from a previous marriage, I asked, “How was it you met each other?”  Nancy looked up at me withe a sly smile and simply said, “we met in High School 40 years ago”.  I smiled back and said, “you don’t need to say anything else.”

40 years later . . .

You're Better Than Ever

As I photographed them as a family, as well as a couple, I could feel the grounded joy and a sense of peaceful calmness coming from them.   It shows in their images and their body language seemed to say, ‘we’re finally where we’re supposed to be.”  During the ceremony, where all their invited family and friends sat outside in ampitheatre seating, overlooking Lake Michigan and the East Side of Milwaukee, a man read the words to the song 100 Years (lyrics are here).

Wow, meet 40 years ago and then fall in love again and marry!   Sure, it happens everyday, but I consider myself lucky to have witnessed and photographed their love for each other!

Then I received an email tonight, from a women I met at Woof – N – Hoof, and she signs her email with this saying.  I thought it appropriate for Nancy and Jason, as they certainly must have experienced times in their lives when they just had to be honest and ‘be who you are . . .”

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”


Leave a Reply

