First Steps in the Studio


My camera’s working overtime these days with seniors, families and kids but I wanted to stop and share some images with you from my session with my great niece and nephew yesterday.  My nephew and his family came up from Chicago for a visit and a chance to photograph their 1 and 3 year old.

The Fireman

Ryan was up first and to ‘keep him in the game,’ I knew I’d have to use my fireman gear as an incentive.  When he saw the fireman’s hat on my head, his eyes got as big as saucers.  After ‘spraying’ us with the hose, I was able to capture a more serious moment.

The Ballerina

Too cute for words

Kylie was up next.  Having just turned one, mom Jen was looking for some special shots of her girl.  Armed with clothes that shouted ‘cute,’ Jen came with just the right looks for Kylie.  While you see Kylie sitting here, she was very active with getting up, standing, falling and even taking a couple of aggressive steps in the studio.  That’s a first for me.  Glad I got to photograph the moment!

Fashion meets Style

You may have noticed Kylie’s lovely, full cheeks.  She’s finally growing into them and whether she’s smiling, laughing or more serious, I found it hard to stop photographing her.  You’ll notice that I’m in the last photo.  There’s a reason for that.  When I photograph, I often stay open to that intuitive voice that talks to me.  When I saw that Jen was having trouble standing Kylie up and then nimbly moving out of the image, I taught her how to hold the camera and gently squeeze the shutter.  She got a wonderful image of Kylie, and me, I got this wonderful souvenir!

Getting Kylie in position

Leave a Reply

