2013 Dog Calendar Models


At the recent Great Lakes Pet Expo I announced the “call for Dog Models” for the 2013 Dog Calendar.  The sale of the calendar will benefit dog rescues.  Marielle & Ryan stopped by my booth and talked with me about their Long-haired German Sheperd puppy, Kaya.   I took one look at the photo of her on their smartphone and she was gorgeous!  I knew how I could light her to show off that fluffy, long hair around her ears and so Kaya became the first model for the Calendar.

Image

Kaya is a puppy.  She was 9 months old when I photographed her in the studio and she did everything we asked of her!  It showed that Marielle and Ryan had put in the work to train her through her first 9 months.  That long walk she had prior to arriving helped to settle her and I was impressed with the length of her “stay.”  In this photo above, can you see what I mean about that fluffy fur around her ears?  It reminds me of the old, Hollywood images of actresses – like Lauren Becall.

Image

While we were laughing and having fun with Kaya, Marielle asked if I wanted to see her “say her prayers.”  Of course I did!  When she did this, I don’t know how I kept the camera steady because I was laughing out loud.  How sweet she looks here!  I love her little pink tongue!  Praying or begging?  What do you think?

Image

Then it was time to accessorize Kaya so we choose the feminine, pink bandana.  We taught her how to perch over the back of the couch, which took a few tries.   When I saw the pink tongue/bandana combo, I knew we had the image.

Image

Even though it was February, we headed outside for a few clicks and you can still appreciate those furry ears and the gleam in her eye!  Once the “green up” happens, we’ll head outside and get some more images to pick for the 2013 Dog Calendar.  

If you’d like to find out how your dog can be part of the 2013 Calendar, please contact me at:  pmorsch@att.net

Equipment used:  Profoto mono-lights, Larson Softboxes, Nikon D3s body, 24-70mm f2.8 lens, 70-200mm f2.8 lens

Leave a Reply

